PDA

View Full Version : There was a keg...

psophia17
08-21-2005, 12:00 AM
...at the 1st birthday party that DS and I went to today. A keg. I just can't get over it. And the only food served was cut up veggies. I think there was more to come, but when I left 2 hours into the party (to go to another party, lucky us), it hadn't been sighted yet.

I'll be the first to admit that I'm no expert on 1st birthday parties, and that I didn't even know what a keg looked like until I was a couple of years into college, but seriously...a keg at a first birthday party?

There were about 15 kids and 25 adults at the party when I left - is that enough people to justify getting a keg?

bostonsmama
08-21-2005, 12:09 AM
Was it a young couple?

Seriously, that doesn't sound too different from the first and second birthday parties of our good friend's son. There were beers and Sangria to go around, then we started grilling 2-1/2 hours into it. Shortly after we ate, there was about 20 minutes of cake and gift opening and then all the adults went back to chatting, playing Jenga w/ vodka shots, dollar poker....the party lasted until 2 in the morning. Aidan (her DS) got tired around 7pm, was taken upstairs to fall asleep w/ his 6-month old sister, and we all just partied on. It isn't what I call a Better Homes and Garden moment, but they're just that kind of people (young 30s).

Larissa
who is still trying to give birth so she can have more to say

HannaAddict
08-21-2005, 12:35 AM
No keg here, but we did have a lot of beer on ice (courtesy of relative who works for distributor!), nice wine selection, and a bunch of champagne for a birthday toast. (And of course non-alcoholic beverages.) We went through all the champagne (and I thought we would have a ton left) and our own champagne not earmarked for the party! We had a lot of food too, heavy hors d'oeuvres and it was an afternoon party (after lunch but before dinner).