PDA

View Full Version : Sunday morning trip to the ER - my first.

Sillygirl
08-28-2005, 09:48 AM
Jonathan's fine, thankfully. He was playing in the hallway while I put away laundry and he came crawling in to see me, chewing on something. I figured it was carpet fuzz but thought I might as well pull it out anyway. I pinched his nostrils shut until he opened his mouth and pulled out a huge evil-looking staple! We use them to tack the phone line down along the baseboards. I went out into the hallway to look and the whole phone line has been pulled loose, and there are three more staples lying on the floor. Meanwhile, Jonathan's yowling because he doesn't like me pulling stuff out of his mouth. And my husband is at the office with the phone turned off, working on a server upgrade. I couldn't be sure Jonathan hadn't swallowed another staple.

Anyway, I hauled him in to the ER, which was practically empty. I sort of subtly let the front desk know I was a doctor at the hopsital anyway. He got a few X-rays and thankfully there aren't any other staples in him. And the round trip only took ninety minutes. So for our first trip to the ER, it went well and had a happy ending. Still, I am kicking myself for just assuming he didn't have the strength to pull up that cord. Off for another round of babyproofing. . .

octmom
08-28-2005, 11:21 AM
Yikes, Katie! I am so glad that Jonathan is OK! I'm sure it was a scary experience, but it sounds like the ER visit wasn't as traumatic as they can sometimes be. Whew!

Jerilyn
DS, Sean 10/03

"Baby makes days shorter, nights longer, home happier, and love stronger."

boys2enough
08-28-2005, 11:29 AM