PDA

View Full Version : Gifts for bedridden mama??

SASM
09-06-2005, 12:05 AM
First of all, HUGE "Thank you's" to you for your thoughts and prayers for Jera and the little one!! I promise to post an update as soon as I have more info. I am going to print out the post and send it with my package tomorrow. I KNOW that your support will make her day!

That being said...I cannot find any posts on gift suggestions for moms on bedrest. I KNOW that there have been several out there and I cannot find them. :( So...does anyone have a link bookmarked?

For you mamas with bedrest experience, any suggestions? I know her DH stocked her up with books but I thought magazines might nice (short articles with little thought). Unfortunately, my usual picks (People, O, Cosmo, Vogue, and InStyle) are either superthick or inappropriate (depressing). Then, I thought of a mobile pedicure but I am uncertain if their technique would be safe (As a massage therapist, I wouldn't give a mom in premature labor a foot massage). The only other thing I can think of would be a gift card to one of her favorite restaurants (DH to pick up the food) and some nice lotions, but does that seem too ordinary?? It is upsetting me so much that I cannot physically be there for her so I want to send a magical "something" that can comfort her.

Thank you so much in advance.

kensjen
09-06-2005, 12:18 AM
Not sure what you want to spend but here's a few ideas:

comfy jammies or loungewear, soft socks

tea (does she like that?) other favorite snacks

maybe some fun color of nail polish and other manicure/pedicure supplies (OPI polish)

a journal or something to write in

a kids book for her to read to her DC while in bed

maybe a DVD? If you know some movies she would like

I also like your ideas, the gift card to a restaurant sounds perfect, and lotions, etc are always good. I don't think it is too ordinary, and I am sure she would love it. You are such a sweet friend!

bostonsmama
09-06-2005, 12:33 AM