PDA

View Full Version : City Mommas

jayali
10-05-2005, 02:32 PM
I have posted this before but never got an answer from true city mommas. So what do you do when having to cab it with a toddler and no carseat? I only did it once and was a wreck. I see so many mommas doing it but have never had enough nerve to ask how they do it so I would appreciate any feedback from seasoned professionals.

I know most of you say not to do it, but sometimes people have to do it so I was wondering how they do it.

TIA

tiikeri2
10-05-2005, 02:41 PM
I'm wondering too, for our upcoming trip to Chicago.

So, how do you do it?

psophia17
10-05-2005, 02:46 PM
I've got no experience with this one, but it was a discussion at a baby shower I went to recently...

According to a mom of 3, who researched this when figuring out her daycare situation, it is legal for kids who are not riding in their primary vehicle and who would normally be riding in a booster seat (as opposed to an infant or convertible seat), to be in the back seat buckled up with a lap belt only.

It came up because one of the newer mums there said she liked taking her infant out of his seat when he cried while she was a passenger. I just hope the mom of 3's lecture on the subject was taken to heart.

HGraceMom
10-05-2005, 02:58 PM
Apparently it's legal (maybe only in some places) to take an infant out of the carseat while the car is moving in order to feed / nurse the child. Nowhere I have to be is important enough to risk an accident to get there that quickly.

When we've visited my sis in Chicago with DD, I stick to the trains, trolley, hoof it (the excercise never hurts!), or tackle driving in city traffic rather than go carseat-less.

buddyleebaby
10-05-2005, 03:01 PM
I think that most big city mamas who have to cart a little one around probably use public transportation such as buses or subways.That is what we usually do.