PDA

View Full Version : Opinions about TiVo

JenfromWI
10-19-2005, 07:53 AM
I was thinking about getting this for my DH (and myself) after seeing an infomercial this morning. I did a search and was unable to find previous discussions about this, so I'm sorry if this is an old topic. We only watch a few shows, and often forget to turn on the VCR to tape them. I also thought that it would be nice to tape Sesame St to have on hand for DD, as we are rarely home when it's on here. Is it worth the money? I deal I saw was the box for $49.99 ($150 rebate) plus service, of course, which I haven't looked into yet. Thanks for your help!
Jennifer
Mom to Ellie 2/04

Sarah1
10-19-2005, 08:15 AM
LOVE it. It's addictive! That sounds like a great deal, too.

kellyotn
10-19-2005, 08:16 AM
I'm a TiVo newbie, and so far I love it. I admit, I didn't really see the appeal at first, but once you have it, you "get" it.

Its perfect if you have a few favorite shows. You just set it to record them and boom its done. You don't have to search miles of tape to find them or keep them in order, they are all there by date in a menu. Its great b/c then when you do actually get time to sit down to watch TV you can just watch the good stuff you recorded instead of what's on at the moment. I love being able to record some of the "good" kid TV shows and always having them handy. I work from home, but the times are all over the board, so its nice to be able to store mom-approved shows for her to watch on the fly when I need to work for a bit.

Another AWESOME feature is the instant rewind. With kids (ie, constant interuptions ;-) ) its nice to be able to rewind and see what someone said, or for sports and missed plays, or I ALWAYS miss the text they display at the end of a Dateline-type show. Ya know, where you watch the whole thing about an interesting crime case or something and then they update it at the end with a written paragraph, just when your DD wakes up needing to go pee NOW....