PDA

View Full Version : Help!!! We're moving out of state in less than 3 weeks!!!

rfeibelm
10-27-2005, 03:09 PM
It's a way long story, but I'll do my best to fill you in. I grew up in Richmond, VA and met my now-husband in high school there. After 9 years of higher education, we moved to GA. We have been looking for a way to get back to Richmond, but dh's job just wouldn't allow it. He has a master's in elctrical engineering and designs microchips, so he is pretty specialized.

After a lot of soul searching, etc, dh decided on a career change so that we could move back. I'm a veterinarian, so I can go pretty much anywhere. He interviewed with a company there that a friend works at, and finally, he got the job!! Except, they wanted him to start in two weeks. He told them that was impossible, so they compromised on a month.

He got the verbal offer last Tuesday. They sent the offer letter on Thursday and he overnighted it back on Friday. The relocation people are supposed to call us 24-48 hrs after they get his offer letter (which they should have gotten Monday!) Here it is, Thursday, and we haven't heard from them!! The HR lady has been MIA and just today emailed dh back saying she was sorry she hadn't called him (but no explanation) and that she was expediting the relo (um, NOT).

HELP!! We're supposed to be moving in 3 weeks! He starts 11/21. The only saving grace here is that we're staying with my parents until our house sells. But, I would really like to get it on the market! And I have to pack! And, I don't even know what else I need to do! I have a good mind to call the HR lady myself and tell her dh can't start until a month after she gets her @ss in gear and relo calls!

Any been there/done that tips?

Rachel (I'm starting to freak out!)
Benjamin 3/25/04 (I have no clue what's in store!)

tiapam
10-27-2005, 03:24 PM