PDA

View Full Version : need help managing people at work

s_gosney
11-04-2005, 12:05 PM
So, I'm relatively new to this whole thing of having people who I'm responsible for managing, and I'm not quite used to the feeling of being somewhere other than bottom of the totempole. So, one of the girls that works on our project as a grad asst has a habit of surfing the web and having extended personal telephone conversations during her "work" time. Now, obviously I surf the web some too (as in right now LOL) and I might have a brief phone conversation. I think that some of that is to be expected. But how do you know when it's enough? Do you keep detailed logs of each time you walk by their desk and they're working/not working? That kind of seems like overkill, but I really don't know. In my days of BEING the subordinate, I always wished that people would just be fair...appreciate my work, and try to keep everyone else working too. Obviously I'm a goody goody. ;)
So...anyway, I'm just wondering what sorts of rules there are out there for things like this. Any good books or websites? This will most likely continue to be part of my job description for years to come and I really want to do it well. Thanks for any insight!

Moneypenny
11-04-2005, 12:24 PM