PDA

View Full Version : Dressing for a job interview

stcelia
11-07-2005, 12:23 PM
I have a job interview on Friday for a floor nurse position. A suit seems a little over the top for a job where I'll get blood and puke on me on a regular basis. Obviously, I want to make a good impression, but I'm not sure how to dress. Does anyone have a suggestion? TIA.

wencit
11-07-2005, 12:27 PM
I was taught that no matter what kind of position you are seeking, you should always go into the job interview dressed in a suit. JMO.

Good luck on your interview!

VClute
11-07-2005, 12:28 PM
I agree. I worked as a nurse, yet I went to my interview dressed as an administrator. You won't get blood and puke on you during your interview (unless it goes REALLY badly! :) )

Amy in NC
mom to Dixon, born 2/14/05

babystuffbuff
11-07-2005, 12:31 PM
Yep, I agree with Erica. Even though you'll be wearing scrubs or whatever while you're on the job, you're still looking to make an excellent impression during the interview. I always wear a suit to any job interview I go to, because I think (or I hope) that it send a message that I'm serious about the position.

Sarah

dogmom
11-07-2005, 01:13 PM
As a nurse I have shown up for job interviews in scrubs, but that was because it was an informal "lets see about transferring issue" and the nurse manager new I was coming to her right after my shift. I felt very uncomfortable doing it.

Dress up. You don't necessarily need a business suit, but matching skirt/pants and a blazer makes an impression. That tends to be the types of things I seem most clinical nurses wearing to interviews. That way if you are being shown around the unit you don't look like and adminstrative VP being shown around, but still look like you are in a job interview.

Jeanne
Mom to Harvey
1/16/03

jodi_b
11-07-2005, 01:17 PM