PDA

View Full Version : WWYD if you got a full time job offer making double your DH's salary? (poll)

jerseygirl07067
01-11-2006, 11:40 PM
Would you have your DH become a SAHD? We may be faced with this decision soon. Before having our kids, we both worked full time. I was able to work from home (as a rehab team leader) full time after I had Sammy, but took 7 months off with Julia and recently returned 10 hours a week to just seeing patients in the evenings. (I'm a physical therapist)

I really want to be able to stay home with Sammy and Julia as much as possible, as I know I will never have this time back. But I may have an opportunity for a full time job making double DH's salary. I think I would hate the thought of being the one working and having DH stay home. I would be concerned that DH would become kind of lazy, since he isn't as much the self starter type that I am. On weekends, he'll watch the kids but constantly get sucked into the TV. That worries me. Also, I think my workload of seeing patients every day in the setting I'd be working in would really burn me out. It's hard to give so much to patients during the day, and then continue to give to your family when you get home. I was getting kind of burnt out a few years back, and the team leader position came along at the perfect time. In addition, DH works for a huge corporation, with amazing benefits (free medical and dental for a family of 4 with a great PPO) but because his job is pretty specific, he might have a hard time finding a good job if he must re-enter the workforce. Right now, it's easy to find a job in my field, and it should be that way for a long time.