PDA

View Full Version : Not walking yet...Can i worry now?

nyc_mom
01-13-2006, 09:37 AM
Hey everyone,

I was hoping I could get some advice. DD is 15 months old and is not walking yet. Everyone keeps telling me not to worry but it's hard when I take her to play group and classes with her peers and she's the only one not walking. When should I start to worry? I worked as a speech therapist in early intervention so my first thought is to get a physical therapy evaluation. Am I a crazy first time mom? Any suggestion?

nyc_mom
http://b2.lilypie.com/yVa8m5/.png

http://bd.lilypie.com/HiJNm5/.png

brittone2
01-13-2006, 09:46 AM
The average age for walking is about 13.5 months, but the normal range is up to 18 months. There's no way to know for sure without evaluating your DD first-hand, but at 15 months I doubt your dd would qualify for services unless she's not yet pulling to stand, cruising, or crawling. If a child isn't walking but has the precursory skills at that age, there's probably not much room for concern unless you see other indicators of potential issues (really abnormal muscle tone for example).

You might want to talk it over with your pediatrician but most kids won't qualify for PT at that age unless they are missing some other skills in addition to walking. HTH. I wouldn't worry yet...I know it is hard but your DD is still well within the range of normal (provided everything else is going okay) most likely :) Obviously I don't know your DD so I can't be specific but I doubt she'd qualify if she hit her other milestones.

(I worked in early intervention as a pediatric PT before DS was born...it is a mixed blessing sometimes because I think it makes you worry a little extra when you are looking at your own child ;) )

kedss
01-13-2006, 10:06 AM
hi-

my ds didn't really walk til he was 18 months, he cruised for a long time before he did. I think for him crawling was faster for a while.

edited for typo

nyc_mom
01-13-2006, 10:57 AM