PDA

View Full Version : How much should I pay my baby-sitter?

Saartje
02-06-2006, 08:08 PM
I know this is a topic that's come up in various forms in the past, but there are so many factors I'm having trouble generalizing.

I have an exam prep course starting in a few days. It will be for eight hours a day (which means the friend who will be caring for Ishy while I'm there will be with him about nine hours, to give me travel time). I've never used a baby-sitter I needed to pay before, as it's always been family or a friend watching him for just a little while. For a 45-hour week, I'll pay her, obviously, and I want to pay her fairly.

We live in Chicago. I don't know what the going rates are for this kind of thing around here; anyone have any advice?

shilo
02-06-2006, 10:40 PM
i would guess that chicago has a craigslist??? if so, you could see what posters re: sitters/liveout nannies are posting for wages.

hth,
lori

jbowman
02-06-2006, 10:50 PM
Hi Sarah,

I don't know about the rates in Chicago (we live in a smaller town), but we paid our nanny $9/hour for watching Ellie last semester. FWIW, we also pay her taxes and social security (which might not affect you since it sounds as if you are hiring your friend for a short time). I mention this only b/c ultimately it gives her a higher per hour rate.

HTH! And good luck! :)

Saartje
02-06-2006, 10:55 PM
I'll check on that, Lori, and thanks; but I find Craigslist wages tend to reflect what people are hoping to pay rather than the reality of what people will work for.

JulesinChicago
02-06-2006, 11:10 PM
Hi there,

We live in Chicago too. DS is in a home daycare now but we had a sitter/nanny 3 days a week when I first went back to work. I asked around alot - the going rate seems to be $10 or $11/hr for looking after one child. Our sitter had a bunch of experience so we paid $11/hr.

Hope that helps!
Julie

kijip
02-07-2006, 03:58 AM