PDA

View Full Version : Please walk me through Freezing 101

firstbaby
02-26-2006, 10:25 AM
I am a decent cook but horrible at long term meal planning. Meaning, I make a weekly menu but it involves going to the store 1 - 2 times a week to purchase the produce and meats for each of the meals. So, please help a "freezing newbie" master the art of freezing uncooked foods like meats and make ahead foods. For instance, I would love to buy meats in bulk and repackage and freeze but don't know how. Also, I would love to make some meals ahead before #2 comes but don't know what freezes well. Finally, how do you cook meats and make ahead dinners when you take them out of the freezer and how long can they be frozen for?

Really, I have no knowledge going into this but want to start getting more organized with my meal planning. TIA!

maestramommy
02-26-2006, 05:03 PM
I usually get the multi-pack of meats from Costco (or get the max pack at your local grocery) and divide them into meal portions. For example 5-6 drumsticks is one dinner. I put the meats into freezer Ziploc bags. You can do this with steaks, pork loin, drumsticks, wings, any kind of meat that comes in huge packs. You just defrost them a day or two in advance in the refrigerator. They line up the freezer pretty neatly. We usually get almost a month's worth of dinner meat in the freezer.

As for meals, I made 2 meatloafs and 2 casseroles before DD was born. You just use the disposable aluminum baking pans/dishes you get at the grocery store. After it's cooked and cooled, I covered them with plastic wrap, then aluminum foil, and put it in the freezer. I'm not sure how long they can be frozen for, but mine were frozen for 2 months before being used.

August Mom
02-26-2006, 05:14 PM
I especially like to freeze soups and sauces. I make large batches of chili, chicken chili and various meat sauces and divide them into individual servings. I freeze the individual servings and then thaw and reheat in the microwave.