PDA

View Full Version : Working mom dilemma - Help! (Long)

alexsmommy
02-26-2006, 04:39 PM
I am a psychologist in private practice. I do not have my own office yet, but sublet in two locations. I work in an office in my hometown and an office that is 20 minutes away (no traffic) or 40 minutes away in traffic - which in Chicago is always present during our long rush hours. The office further away is in a suite with four other women, all in private practice, all of whom I like. It's in a great location, my associate/mentor who really helped me make the switch into private practice is there and can keep me full with clients if I just say the word. Currently I am there two days a week because she was able to help me fill my practice in my hometown one day per week. The plan was always to flip that around eventually, make my main office in my hometown and work at the office only one day a week to stay connected with my mentor (we are also forming a consulting business in perinatal issues), but to be five minutes from home the other two days I work. I am full for my one day locally, but don't have the volume of referrals to be full another full day - however, I haven't worked as hard at this as I should/could because between the two locations I am very full and very busy. I love my days close to home for convenience, and it's nice to know that if one of the kids really needs me I am able to get to them quickly. I would also like to have another child and it is feasible for me to come home and bf during lunch. Having said that, a suite member in the futher away office found out recently that she will most likely be relocating out of state in August. The office members really would like to assume her lease and take her office - there is 6 years left on the lease. If I don't, there is a real chance I will lose one of my subletting days as the person I sublet from is beginning to think she will want to go back to being in the office more frequently. Do I jump at the chance