PDA

View Full Version : Please share your organization secrets!

firstbaby
03-12-2006, 08:09 PM
This weekend I took a good look around the house and have to admit the clutter monster has permanently moved in. x( I've read that the key to staying organized / decluttered is to have a space for everything. Once I sweep through the house this week and empty closets, cabinets, clean off counter tops, what are some organization secrets that can help? Are there any containers or gadgets that have really helped you keep it together? Other than getting fed up every year or so, I don't really have a system in place and I know we have some pros on this board :) TIA!

The Review Mommy
03-13-2006, 04:22 PM
Hi there Erica!

I'm not a pro per say, but I would consider myself to be of the less is more crowd...quite seriously. I wouldn't totally agree with "a space for everything" until there has been purging...major purging! To me there is a difference, some things do not deserve or earn a special place to be kept, so you purge it. KWIM? ;) It was hard and scary at first, but I totally get it now and I'm much happier! I think differently now... it's the little things. And although most people ease themselves into the process I certainly didn't-The urge came on suddenly and I new I needed to take *FULL* advantage of the moment. I opened our closets and garage and without looking inside some of the boxes they were dumped in one fell swoop. It was all junk, I can assure you. ;) What I use on a day to day basis did not reflect that in my storage amount. It's all so personal, but this is the quote from a book I read that started it for me by Alton Browns called Gear for your kitchen.