PDA

View Full Version : How do you write 'no gifts'

lfp2n
03-17-2006, 04:26 PM
I know I'm obsessing but on DDs B'day invitation (very informal party 4-5 3yr olds at my house), I want to write 'No gifts', somehow it kind of looks rude without a please. 'No gifts please' looks weird. How do you say it in a nice way without it looking like you were presuming they'd bring a gift in the first place, am I being stupid here? Also as her other friends did have gifts, I don't want to look like I am commenting on their choices IYKWIM.
Whats the normal way I've never done this before?

Lucy DD 3/03

Sarah1
03-17-2006, 04:51 PM
I've seen "No gifts please!" and "Absolutely no gifts!". I didn't think either looked weird or rude or presumptious. :)

mariza
03-17-2006, 05:08 PM
I once recieved a gift for a graduation party that I thought put it in a nice way:
"your prescence is a present" or something to that effect. HTH!

s7714
03-17-2006, 05:11 PM
I usually see "No gifts please!" I don't think it's rude to presume people would bring gifts if you don't specify otherwise. That's pretty much the social standard for birthday parties.

Jennifer
Mommy to
DD 3/03
DD 6/05

Calling fellow BBB SoCal moms...we'd love to meet you!
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/babybargainssocal/

kedss
03-17-2006, 05:17 PM
maybe you could do it as a bring a book party? then donate them to a library or school or something like that?

Melanie
03-17-2006, 05:44 PM
I think I would put something like:
Your Presence is Gift Enough
Your Friendship is our Gift
In Lieu of Gifts, please bring (yourself, your smile, hugs, kisses, books, toy to donate, your camera, yaddayaddayadda)

crl
03-17-2006, 07:39 PM
I did "No gift please." And reaffirmed it verbally when some people asked, "did you really mean that?" No one brought a present so it worked!

Sillygirl
03-17-2006, 07:42 PM