PDA

View Full Version : Personnel (HR) question

Mom to Brandon and 2 cats
04-20-2006, 08:39 PM
Hi,
I have an opportunity to become a contract employee (read - no benefits). What kind of markup off the original benefitted, salaried, position should I ask for? 30% markup? 40% markup?

Thanks for your expertise!

LBW
04-20-2006, 08:49 PM
When I was a manager, it was somewhere aroung 35%. That's the number my husband used when he negotiated a contract position.

bunnisa
04-20-2006, 09:35 PM
It can be twice as much (not unheard of!) but in DH's experience, around 40-50% more.

Which field are you in? that makes a difference.

Bethany
blessed wife and mama to two!

"And children are always a good thing, devoutly to be wished for and fiercely to be fought for."
-Justin Torres

Mom to Brandon and 2 cats
04-20-2006, 11:39 PM
Hmmm...engineering, and this is for a public agency, if that makes any difference. Know if any websites I can go to for research? I know how much the position is worth in benefitted salary, just not sure how to compensate for the lack of benefits.

holliam
04-20-2006, 11:47 PM
In my profession, the general rule is to consider how much you would make in a yearly salary and if you are a contractor, charge that equivalent value. I am totally making no sense. LOL

$100k - charge $100/hr
$60k - charge $60/hr

No idea why this is the case, but I know it is, at least for the very good, in demand folks.

Holli

dhano923
04-21-2006, 01:38 AM
I was an HR Manager, and our markup for contract employees was 20%. This was in the entertainment industry. I think it'll depend on the field you are in and how in demand the job is. A job that everyone wants will have a lower markup.

firstbaby
04-21-2006, 09:25 AM