PDA

View Full Version : Can't make up my mind whether to return to work after 2 years. . .

Timmersmom
04-29-2006, 12:22 AM
I may have the chance to start working again, but it would involve many HUGE changes for my family, and I am really torn - it is keeping me up at night.

A little background: I stopped working (3 days/wk) after my DD was born, about 2 years ago. We were living in Northern Virginia, and we now live in a rural "exurb". My incredible DH commutes 2 hours each way to get to work. That's the only way we could afford to live on one salary.

I stumbled across a job opportunity that is perfect for my skills (I'm an attorney specializing in Medicare law). It's not for sure that I have the job yet, but it's looking good, and I want to have my mind made up before any offer.

Here are the factors that I keep going over in my head:

1. I feel terribly guilty about DH's commute, even though he keeps telling me he doesn't mind, and it's my decision about going back to work. If I go back to work, we'd make enough to live maybe 1/2 hour or so from work.

2. However, once we moved back, I really wouldn't have the option to change my mind about working full-time, I'd be stuck. I am so scared that I will big-time regret going from SAHM to full-time working mom. I was pretty good at it, but Medicare law is um, not that exciting. But I do admit I get bored/frustrated at home sometimes, worry that my skills are getting stale, and if I stay out of work much longer, I'll become unmarketable.