PDA

View Full Version : Nursing and drinking

Elena
05-03-2006, 09:58 PM
I know it's a controversial topic. Some say it's OK to drink in moderation while nursing, others quote studies about gross motor delay in kids etc. I've heard our lactation consultant actually suggesting having a glass of wine to relax and help with let down. Others try to time drinking so that they don't nurse for 2 hours after that.

I am curious what mamas on this board think about drinking while nursing.

DS is almost 2 and there is no sign that he's even thinking of weaning. I do want to enjoy a glass of wine with DH when he comes home from work, but there is this guilty question mark in my head about the whole thing. I know doctors say it's OK, but what exactly is 1 glass of wine? How long do you wait after a drink to nurse?

bostonsmama
05-03-2006, 10:31 PM
I have no personal experience off which to base an informed opinion on whether it's okay for you to drink alcohol while BF, but I do know that one serving of wine is 4 ounces (not 6, which is what people often pour for themselves). In a standard wine glass, it shouldn't come up more than 1/3 to 1/2 the way.

Larissa

My-oh-my, we're doing it in July!

Proud Aunt to Jack Dorian, born to my brother and SIL on 3/06
http://www.windsorpeak.com/dc/user_files/32719.jpg

psophia17
05-03-2006, 10:45 PM
I didn't really drink while BF, but every so often I'd have a drink, and it didn't phase me if I had to BF soon after. If I had gotten drunk, I wouldn't have BF, but one glass of wine or one Baileys and coffee? I saw no reason to worry, so I didn't.

mamatomax
05-03-2006, 10:47 PM
2 years old? Honey, have some vino! You owe it to yourself!!! I enjoy a drink or 2 without worry, but if I have 3 or more, then I pump-and-dump. Maybe some moms will disapprove, but I'm a mom, not a saint.
Jill
Mama to Baby Max

http://b1.lilypie.com/VnnVm5/.png
http://www.snugglepie.com/ezb/265055.png

ribbit1019
05-03-2006, 11:10 PM