PDA

View Full Version : OT: Lip stains -- what brand, or skip it?

chrissyhowie
05-26-2006, 01:31 PM
Okay, makeup gurus...I have a $30 Sephora gift card and a sudden desire to get some lip stain :*. I've never used the stuff before. Normally I use Cover Girl Outlast on my lips, but want something more sheer for summer. I really want something that I apply just once in the morning, which will last for a long while (hence why I like the CG Outlast). Do lip stains work that way?

Here's a link for the Sephora selection:
http://tinyurl.com/rgt95

Any advice is much appreciated! Thanks in advance :).

new_mommy25
05-26-2006, 01:49 PM
I love Benetint.

dotgirl
05-26-2006, 01:51 PM
Lip stains are long lasting, but unlike lipstick or lip gloss, they have no shine at all - they are pure matte colour. You can use a lip stain and layer it with some gloss for a nice look.

Something else to note - the colours on the package are *never* correct. Unless you've already seen and tried a colour on your skin, you shouldn't buy online.

That being said, I really like the stila stuff.

TraciG
05-26-2006, 02:29 PM
MAC- Pro Longwear Lipcolour

I don't think they sell it there BUT it goes on & dries on your lips then it has lipgloss, it lasts all day ! I even have it on a little after washing my face & sleeping all night !!!!!!!!!!!

jesseandgrace
05-26-2006, 07:26 PM
I love benetint, and I love lip stain. It is definitely worth it! But, I am a low maintenance kind of make-up person so I don't reapply lipstick ever throughout the day.

chrissyhowie
05-26-2006, 09:38 PM
Thank you all for the advice. I am remembering now that I tried Benetint once a long time ago because my sister had it. I didn't apply it well, so I ended up with a funny splotch on my cheek which I had trouble getting off!