PDA

View Full Version : OMG....I'm officially a SAHM now! Any advice?

lmwbasye
05-28-2006, 01:59 PM
DS is 19 months and I teach kindergarten and I worked all last summer. School ended on Friday and the Army is moving us this summer, so I'm currently between jobs and probably won't be working until September. Therefore, I'm a SAHM for the 1st time since my maternity leave.

I have always wanted to do this and this is my first opportunity, but now that it's here, I'm terrified. I'm a teacher for a reason (can't sit still) and am worried I'll go a bit crazy without a ton to do. I'm used to lesson plans and days packed with constant activitiy.

Any tips or advice? Of course, I'll be prepping for the move a bit and already take DS to Gymboree but not sure what else to do or expect.

TIA!

kedss
05-28-2006, 02:14 PM
Get some time for yourself!!!!!! at least once a day, you need at least an hour or two outside the house on your own. It deosn't happen as much as I need it to, but its good for you! :)

Play outside!! A lot. :)

Make friends with some other moms as soon as you get to where you are going, and make sure you have IRL folks to hang out with.

hth! Have fun! :)

kristenk
05-28-2006, 02:33 PM
Try to get out of the house and go somewhere (not just outside in the front yard) every day! Having an outing somehow makes the day more interesting and easier. Go to the park. Go to a bookstore. Go to the pet store and look at the fishies. Just go somewhere! (Note: It's easier to go places that you don't actually NEED to go. Going shopping at the grocery store is not as much fun as wandering after your little one at the bookstore.)

Does your public library have story time? Barnes & Noble (and, I think, Borders) also have weekly story times. Story time is a great place to meet other moms.