PDA

View Full Version : Any Project managers here? Need some guidance

asha
06-20-2006, 12:46 PM
I am in Software development currently and want to move to Project Management.
I know that one way to get started is to get a PMP certification. However, I am not sure if that is a must.

Given that I dont have any PM experience, how can I get some qualifications to apply for a PM job? I have an Engineering degree and close to 10 years experience in the software industry. Yes, I have been in leadership roles, but am not sure that is enough to support my resume.

How can I prepare myself for this job? Are there any books that you would recommend? What do you think are the skills that are most import for a PM?

I know this is a lot of questions, I really appreciate some help.
Thanks in advance for your time.

vdrake71
06-20-2006, 12:59 PM
I am not a project manager, but wanted to add that the PMP is a very nice to have. Companies really like it, but you need to have experience before you can even sit for the exam. I have looked into taking the PMP a couple of time, but I have not had the time or engery to do it.

I would recommend going to monster.com and search for PM to see the skills that they are looking for. Also, you might want to look into joining your local project management chapter.

schums
06-20-2006, 02:58 PM
I am a PMP, and it's been valuable to have. It won't get you the job on it's own, but it gets you noticed.

I agree with PP to check out job postings on moster for project managers. You probably have LOTS of PM skills/experience that you don't realize you have, especially if you've done more with software development that "just" programing. Be sure to highlight those in any resumes or interviews. My background is software development from a marketing/pm side, and I was using lots of PM skills before they were labeled as PM, IYKWIM.