PDA

View Full Version : Daycare vs. Nanny for clinical years in medical school--any advice appreciated!

4Cats
06-20-2006, 01:36 PM
This is my first time starting a thread in the Lounge! After lurking for a while in here, I realize how much great advice you mamas have on all sorts of issues, so I’m here to benefit from some of your insights! I am an MD/PhD student mommy to a 10 month-old DS and am feeling confused about our upcoming decisions for childcare.

My DH and I are currently trying to decide whether to hire a nanny to care for our DS in lieu of continuing with the daycare he’s currently attending. This switch would occur in September (DS will be 13 months then), when I begin the first of 14 months of med school clinical rotations. Since November, DS has been in the hospital-affiliated daycare while I’ve finished up my PhD; currently we’re using the daycare while I finish writing some papers.

PROS to daycare:
Comfortably affordable for us
Known commodity, safe supervised environment, we already know/trust the caregivers

PROS to nanny:
Less hassle in mornings
Shorter door-to-door commute; translates into more time with DS
Not having to pick-up and drive DS while tired (early morning, after a long day, or post-call)
One-on-one care
Less illness—for both DS and us
More cooperation with our parenting choices (e.g., we try to stick to a vegetarian, mostly-organic diet at home (eating out is different ;); also, we’ve gotten pressure from the daycare for our choices to delay all solids till 7-8 months (driven by DS’s own readiness signs), and for our “slowness� in bringing DS up to speed with the other babies in all matters food-related).