PDA

View Full Version : Going the the pool with 2 little ones...Is it possible????

daisy1234
06-23-2006, 01:24 PM
Hi...I am new at being a SAHM and I am just getting used to getting around with 2 little ones on my own. Anyway...the summer is hot and I'd love to go to the pool but I am not sure it is possible with a 15 month old and a 4 year old who is not used to the pool? Is this doable? I was thinking I'd have to stay on the kiddee pool side> What do I have to bring to survive!!!LOL I may just do a triail run on the weekend with DH. It just seems like such a big deal!!! But so much fun??? any suggestions or words of wisdom greatly appreciated!

Laura

jennifer13
06-23-2006, 01:28 PM
I would do a trial run with DH first, since you don't know how your 4 year old will deal. It will be do-able once you sort of know what "routine" you'll follow. Good luck and have fun!
Jennifer
Mom to Norah 5/23/03
and Leah 3/24/05

dules
06-23-2006, 01:32 PM
My neighbor, who has 18 month old twins, just "hired" a 12 year old girl from up the street to be her mother's helper for the pool this summer. It's a town pool and all are members, and this will let the girl get some hands on babysitting experience while supervised, so is a win win for all.

Just a thought, if you have any friends/neighbors with kids the right age.

Best,
Mary

daisymommy
06-23-2006, 01:36 PM
Just thinking out loud here :)

I would definetly say that having a pool floaty/boat for your 18 month old or a water sling would help. That way, you could put the baby in the floaty/boat, and have one had on them, but still play with your 4 year old in the shallow section.

I would make sure they were in their suits, with water shoes and sunscreen on BEFORE you get to the pool. That way you could just get out of the car and into the pool.

Make sure you bring lots of water, and some snacks.

KBecks
06-23-2006, 02:47 PM