PDA

View Full Version : Has anyone done a mixed theme or no-theme b-day party??

annasmom
07-20-2006, 09:12 AM
This might sound like a strange (And slightly stupid) question, but I am just beginning to wonder if I am making things harder on myself by not picking a birthday party theme for Anna's birthday.

When I started planning, I wanted to do a gender neutral farm animal party. I got the invitations, reserved the pony, etc. Well, then I had to return the invites because I needed more than the store had, so we went with a very pink invite (Anna's choice). Anna has since expressed the fact that she wants a pink Dora cake, pink balloons, and pink just about everything. Which is all fine.

I guess my question is, do I cave in just do a really girly party, or go ahead with the farm animals too. I was thinking about amending my original plan, but just not having a real *theme,* iykwim?? I told you, weird question.

BTW, I know Anna will just love the animals too. She isn't all *that* girly, she is currently just in a EXTREMELY pink phase!!

Jenn98
07-20-2006, 09:21 AM
We aren't planning any kind of theme either. It's DD's first birthday, so we have planned two get togethers. The first is on a Sunday afternoon and is for family and childless friends (we are the first of our generation in the family to have kids). It'll just be a nice family gathering with lots of food, cake and gift-opening, maybe we'll fire up the grill. The second party is on a Monday afternoon and is for our play group and any friends who have little ones. It's going to be just like a regular play group where all the kids come and play, but there will be cupcakes mixed in with the regular snacks and then we'll open gifts.

I decided to not do a theme because it seemed to really complicate things. But that's just what works for me. HTH

Jenn

aliceinwonderland
07-20-2006, 09:34 AM
Yeah, we don't do themes. For anything :)

AmyZ
07-20-2006, 10:14 AM