PDA

View Full Version : Our Diabetes Story FYI (Very Long)

bisous
10-19-2006, 03:53 AM
Hi There!

I've been wanting to post our story for awhile but haven't had time to compose the message. I introduced myself a week back or so but wanted to fill in the details about how my DS was diagnosed with Type 1 Diabetes. I suppose I just feel really grateful for the circumstances and want to make others aware that this disease can be present in families with no direct history.

In July, I started noticing behavior changes in my 2.5 year old. He was really grouchy and cranky almost every day. I noticed this because the previous semester (I'm a grad. student) I could handle a full course load, a tiny job and his full-time care (except for evening classes) with really few problesm. But this summer? I couldn't even keep up with the reading list for one of my classes. Of course, behavior changes are pretty par for the course in a young developing toddler.

He used to be a great sleeper at night and that started to be a battle daily. His sleep schedule was totally erratic. One evening he woke up at 11:00 p.m. and was up all night until 7:00 in the morning. He wasn't really upset, had no fever or other symptoms, just kind of agitated and very thirsty. Again, sleep problems and changes in progress and routine are not terribly uncommon in young kids.

This thirst didn't initially alarm me. It was July in California during the hottest summer that I personally remember in all of my 30 years. I felt that it was natural to want to drink to keep from being dehydrated.