PDA

View Full Version : Oxford, Ohio?

candybomiller
11-01-2006, 08:14 PM
I know that there are either some people who have gone to Miami U or are going. My dh is interviewing with them tomorrow and I would love to know a little more about the area, the University, etc.

tylersmama
11-01-2006, 10:25 PM
I went to Miami, graduated in '98. Not sure what kind of info you are looking for... It's an absolutely beautiful campus(we actually got married on campus), and I have nothing but great memories of my time in Oxford. The town is great, although it has undergone many, many changes since I graduated. I loved that it was a small town (the population doubles when the students arrive in the fall), but yet it's close enough to Cincinnati that you can easily get your city fix when you need it. The university has some great benefits for employees (my freshman roommate's father worked in facilities, and she got free tuition).

Let me know what kind of specifics you are looking for, and I'll do my best to answer!

candybomiller
11-01-2006, 10:55 PM
I don't know if you'll know this since you were there as a college student, but is it a good town to raise a child in? Is it safe? Friendly? Am I going to have to buy a gun??

tylersmama
11-02-2006, 01:47 AM
My impression of Oxford was always that it was pretty safe. At least when I was a student, I don't remember hearing/reading about much crime or violence in town. The stuff you usually hear about mostly relates to students and drinking (fights uptown after the bars close, sexual assault, etc.) and I'm sure is similar to what you find near any major college campus.