PDA

View Full Version : Info about San Bernardino County, CA

JenaW
12-15-2006, 03:21 PM
DH will be finishing his fellowship in July and we are starting our search for a job. We woud like to stay here in Pittsburgh, but right now there isn't anything available that meets all of our needs. One of the biggest problems is that I can not find a job. (In my pre-mom life I was an OBGYN physician assistant). I have always wanted to do some post-graduate training, and there happens to be a program in Colton, CA at the Arrowhead Regional Medical Center and Riverside County Medical Center. DH found some anesthesia postings for San Bernardino County Medical Center. I have thought about this before, and in fact was in the process of applying to the proragm when I got pregnant with Natalie. The timing should have been ok, and I would have started the following December after her birth, when she was one year old. However, then my water broke at 22 weeks, and you know the rest of that story, so I withdrew my application. I am not sure it is even possible to do now with 4 young kids, but I know it is now or never, and I am hopeful that this experience would make me more marketable and allow me to find a position where I could work 1-2 nights/week while the kids are still young. I definitely do not want to work full-time anytime in the near future, but alot of my self-worth (unfortunately) is based upon how I perceive how worthy other people think I am, and I think that working might make me feel better about myself, give me a small break from the kids, and overall make me a better mother in the process (am I hoping for too much??).