PDA

View Full Version : Why won't he just TALK?!

LarsMal
12-21-2006, 02:54 PM
I LOVE DS with all my heart, I really do! He is a sweet, laid back kid who has been SO easy since day 1.

But really...he's almost 16 months and he doesn't have ANY language! The ped said he should have 4-10 words by now and he doesn't have one. He babbles a ton, plays with his intonations, and he says Mama- but not associated with me (although DH said something about Mommy yesterday and he pointed to me).

He has a few baby signs that he uses to communicate, but these days all he does is his sign for "more" which has morphed into "give me" and then points and grunts at what he wants. I've been saying things like, "Show Mommy" or "Can you tell Mommy" but he just signs, points, and grunts. OH- and he understands EVERYTHING!

Is this "normal"? I know they are all different, but I figured he'd have something by now. Of course it doesn't help that my undergrad is in Hearing and Speech and I was a teacher for five years. I think I worry too much, and diagnose him on a regular basis!

Please tell me he'll get there!!!!

heidiann
12-21-2006, 03:04 PM
Well my son who is now 15 did not speak a word until he was 18 months old, not mamma not dadda he just babble and grunted. He would point at something and go "uhh uhh uhh" thats all I heard all day. But when he was around 18-19 months old he started talking and I swear has not shut up since LOL.... Your DS i'm sure is fine, my nunnie (grandma) would tell me "he'll talk when hes good and ready" and low and behold he did.

Heidi
Mama to DD 10/05

wolverine2
12-21-2006, 03:05 PM
Well, my DS had one word (cat) at 18 months. He really got into signing around then, and signed a lot until about 23 months when his language just exploded. Now he talks non-stop. I was getting close to calling EI for an eval, but DH was resistant and I think we're ok now. I'd wait a little longer before you freak out, especially since he's a boy.

tny915
12-21-2006, 03:36 PM