PDA

View Full Version : febrile seizures?

Jo..
01-17-2007, 07:41 PM
Caly,

My heart goes out to you and I can't even begin to imagine how terrifying this must have been. I'm glad you got medical attention for her, and that she's home and okay. You are in my thoughts and prayers.

fortato
01-17-2007, 08:25 PM
I have no experience in this, but did want to send hugs and wish there were more I could do for you.

I'm glad she's ok. Please keep us updated.

Hugs

Kristne

KrisM
01-17-2007, 08:43 PM
In July 05, when DS was almost 15 months, he had a Febrile seizure. It was most definitely the scariest time of my life. Like you, we called 911. The seizure lasted about 5 minutes and his lips were blue and he had a hard time breathing. But, we didn't need to do CPR, thankfully. I can't imagine that!

By the time 911 came, he was done seizing, but was completely limp. He went to the hospital in an ambulance and was seen and had blood taken to rule out things. Eariler in the day, he had a slight fever and just before the seizure it was at least 104, but he was squirming too much for me to get a good read. Never did find out why he had the fever.

Anyway, although he is more likely to have another, now that he has had one, he has never had another even though he's had 2 or 3 fevers since. The only difference in our lives is that I carry a thermometer and Tylenol everywhere and make sure babysitters know where it is. At the first sign of a fever, he gets Tylenol. No more waiting it out.

If you were like me, it's all hitting you now. At the time, I swear I was super MOM. I was calm on the phone to 911 and giving directions to DH. I even thought to ask if I could put him in the carseat for the ambulance ride! But once we were home again with him, I totally lost it. Even now, 1.5 years later, I'm just about in tears thinking about it.

She'll be fine, really. She'll be out of it tomorrow and maybe the next day, but then she'll be fine. You will be soon, too. Hugs to you!!