PDA

View Full Version : Eek, I got offered a part-time job...long

niccig
01-26-2007, 04:53 PM
I'm a SAHM and I volunteer as a research assistant with an academic, who works at a museum. The big plan, is to keep volunteering, taking 1 subject through the university's continuing education, and when DS, who is 2, starts school full-time, I'd go back to school. I used to be a reference librarian at a university, and I'm tired of helping with other people's research and not doing my own. The academic I work with is in an administrative position, and research is done on the side time permitting, and that's what I've helped with.

She offered me a part-time job as her assistant with the administrative side of her job - most of it would be project management. She wants someone who has the skills I have - organization, attention to detail, IT-skills and I used to work on projects in a similar environment, plus as I've worked with her for some time over the last 3 years, so knows me. She said it could be any number of hours I want but I would need to go in another day during the week to meet and do things from home. I currently go in Friday mornings for a 90min meeting and do the rest from hom. She needs to hire other staff, tender out for work etc, my main goal will be to help her organize and set up the overall structure of the projects, and organize the office - years and years worth of academic papers, slides etc.

I don't know what to think. I haven't worked in over 2 years, and didn't think I would for at least another 2.

I don't know if I could juggle another ball - take care of DS, run the house, take 1 class, still volunteer in the research, and work in the admin side. I know many people here do all of that and more, but I'm already having anxiety over what I don't get done - I think I need to mentally let some expectations go.