PDA

View Full Version : *long*...Need help please...it’s time to make a decision SAHM/WOHM.

Clarity
01-31-2007, 02:57 PM
and neither side is winning…I don’t know what to do and I’d really appreciate some advice from BTDT moms.
A bit of background, I am a program manager/midlevel administrator. I’m well regarded at work and I created the office and program that I currently administer. I enjoy my work and am good at what I do. Pre-birth of my dd, I fully intended to return to my position. I’ve taken 4 months maternity leave, and then returned to work for three months at 27 hours a week. This adjusted leave is over February 14. I am supposed to return to work full-time and I find I don’t want to, I can’t. I need and want to be with my child more than allowed by a 40 hour work week. I’ve spoken to my supervisor and I cannot remain at a reduced schedule because they need to “protect the line� – the full time position.
With that, I decided that in February, I would leave my position to be a SAHM. My reasoning - I have my dh’s support if I decide I need to leave my position.

Now for my whine….I really don’t want to leave my job, but I want to be home a little more with my child….I guess I want my cake and eat it too. My boss has offered to try and work with me, to use my leave/vacation time so that I can leave a bit early, say 4:00 instead of 5:00. This is very nice of her, but I don’t have enough leave/vacation time to get me beyond a month or two – I used it all for my maternity leave!!

I’m very afraid. I’m afraid if I leave my position, I won’t find as good a job when I return to the work force in 3-5 years. I don’t want to SAHM forever. I’m afraid of not having the security of my own job and paycheck. I’m afraid I won’t like being at home 24/7. I feel a bit lost thinking of not being part of my dysfunctional work family and not continuing to grow my career and the program I run.