PDA

View Full Version : I'm chicken to attend a new playgroup...any suggestions?

pampamz
02-08-2007, 09:50 AM
There is a weekly playgroup at the church around the block from me...now that I am SAHM I would love to take the kids so they can have some playtime and I can sit & chat but I am a CHICKEN!

I am a nervous/shy person when it comes to meeting new people (sometimes interpreted as a snob, but I'm really not!). I worry that all the moms there will know each other and since I'm not very good at many small talk w/new people, I'll end up feeling like a loser.

Any suggestions? Tell me I'm not the only person like that, please!

I should just do it, shouldn't I???

tarabenet
02-08-2007, 10:28 AM
The other moms there will know each other. They've been building relationships, finding things they have in common. Know what? you have something in common with them already! Something big. You have kids too!

Suck it up and go. If you are feeling too shy to deal with the other mommies, just focus on your kids the first time. Little by little, you'll find ways to interact with the other moms, and before you know it, they won't be stangers, they'll be friends.

Resist the temptation to take a book or project to hide out in. That would only contribute to the "snob" impression you want to avoid.

Getting nervous about it is the tougher and more energy-draining part. Get there, get into the experience, and you'll find it is nothing as difficult as you are thinking.

And I understand, by the way. I've been known to work myself into a full-blown migraine gearing up to go to a party full of strangers! But as soon as I can find something in common, and just one or two people to focus on, not the whole roomful, I can be fine and really enjoy meeting people. Don't look at the whole crowd -- just one or two moms who seem open to visiting!

JustMe
02-08-2007, 10:51 AM
Do it! Its one of the ways we are forced to grow as parents!