PDA

View Full Version : DS starting daycare 2 days a week- please bring your suggestions!

clc053103
03-01-2007, 08:01 PM
Hello, DS (19 mo) is starting at a Goddard School in 2 weeks. He will be going 2 days a week. Since I returned to work, DS has been under the care of his grandmother, so this is his first formal schooling.

Anyone BTDT and have some suggestions to share?? My biggest concern is how he will sleep on the floor (yep, tile!) when he is used to a crib. I posted for sleeping bag suggestions on Around the House but the only recc I got was for my nap pak- which is not very padded at all. I want something almost "mat-like" on the bottom with an attached blanket and pillow. Any suggestions? And I welcome suggestions on anything, from how to make the first day easier, to what to pack in his lunchbox. I'm a total novice here!

Thanks in advance!

Courtney

tarabenet
03-01-2007, 09:19 PM
I made one for my 2-year-old niece when she started MDO this fall. I used one of those nice thick KinderMats, and made a cover with attached pillow. The silly thing is too big to fit in the storage area at school and has to be man-handled into place! The other kids in her class sleep on much thinner things. A couple of them are just on fleece blankets. They all seem to do just fine. I wish I'd made hers a lot thinner. Next year I will.

smilequeen
03-01-2007, 11:20 PM
DS is in Goddard School 2 days a week too, although he started when I went back to work, so he's been there a while.

Ours actually has cots that they nap on, so DS just has a portable crib sheet, a blanket, and a pillow. He is still the kind of kid who at home needs me to lay down with him until he falls asleep for naps, but he's always napped like a pro at school. I guess there is just something about all the other kids doing it, the soft music, and the teachers at ours sit between them and pat their backs, etc.