PDA

View Full Version : Am I asking for it? Help needed, esp. from Military Spouses

lmwbasye
03-26-2007, 06:37 PM
I am a teacher and love my job, but have always wanted to stay at home. We are coming into some money and I finally have the opportunity.

But here's the catch...

I would finish this school year and not return next year. I will have my second child the first week of October. And DH will be deploying for 15 months in January.

Is this insane to consider? Normally, I'd stay at home in a heartbeat with the two children. But I'm worried that being a new SAHM and having a husband deployed for over a year will be too much.

At the same time, I'm thinking that with my husband deployed I should be home more with my older DS as he doesn't see DH that often as it is and struggles with that at 2 1/2.

Then again, working and having two little ones and a husband deployed would be hard too.

The other part is that I won't be attached to a unit at all in this deployment situation....so no FRG, etc. Although I do live in the DC area, so plenty of military installations around.

Am I crazy to consider staying home in this situation?

TIA!

katiesmommy
03-26-2007, 07:47 PM
I would think that it would be harder to work and have two kids and have your husband deployed all at the same time. But I don't know either. I keep jumping back and forth. Do you have some family or good friends nearby that would be willing to help you out if needed? I'm sorry, I guess I really don't have much advice, other then trying to join a wives club or some-such. Good luck with whatever you decide to do.

lmwbasye
03-26-2007, 07:57 PM
I forgot to say that my family (parents, sister, brother) are about a 4 hour drive away and the in-laws about 2.5 - 3 hour drive.

Actually, pretty close for military. LOL!

MissyAg94
03-26-2007, 08:04 PM