PDA

View Full Version : Airtran makes NY Times on Sunday

trales
07-26-2007, 09:15 AM
For those of you who were following the AirTran thread, the story made it into this Sunday's NY Times. I finally got around to reading that section. Here is the link, I have never done a link before and hope it works. If not, it was in Sunday's Week in Review section Ideas and Trends.
http://www.nytimes.com/2007/07/22/weekinreview/22sharkey.html

mickminmom
07-26-2007, 09:47 AM
Thanks for posting..I had not seen that article.

Makes me happy that we are driving on our vacation this year!! Yikes!!

Chris

american_mama
07-26-2007, 03:41 PM
That article makes me feel almost ill... the anger and judgementalism directed at parents and children. I wish the family travel exert they quoted several times had mentioned that: it's not just the rules that are a problem, or maybe not even mainly the problem. It's the convenient targeting of parents and helpless (although irritating) children for the frustrations of the flight attendants and other travelers on the plane. Where is the grown up ability to say, oh well, it's only for a few hours and, after all, it's worse for the parents who are sitting right next to that child? Where is the tolerance for a parent who may be on their second or third leg of a flight with said cranky child, and may think a few loose cheerios on the floor are a good tradeoff for a quiet child?

Also, I know I personally would welcome a family section on an airplane. Why not do it?

DrSally
07-27-2007, 08:39 PM
I read the article. A family section would be a good idea, as intolerance for children on planes seems to be reaching a fever pitch.

cuca_
07-27-2007, 09:59 PM
I find this article annoying at best. We travel often, and I in my experience intolerance of children in planes has increased in the past year. I agree with Karen that this might be because it is convenient to target parents for the frustrations of air crews and other travellers.