PDA

View Full Version : Anyone know Frontier's policy on carseat facing?

maestramommy
08-14-2007, 04:12 PM
We just went to Boulder last week, and flew Frontier airlines for the first time. On the way we installed Dora's RA Rfing. The flight attendant initially told us we need to turn her around, but when we said, "actually the weight limit says she's supposed to be rear facing, this is the way she rides in the car," she immediately backed off, and said, "oh, in that case go ahead. I'm not a carseat expert, so you know better than me." But I saw her talking to another attendant about it later, reiterating she doesn't know anything about carseats. On the way back another attendant told us we had to turn her around. In fact she came back a second time and said we had to turn her around before the flight could take off. When we said the same thing, she said, "that may be, but in on the airplane she must be ffacing. That's the safest position to be." When I pointed out that in the outgoing flight we were allowed to rface, she said, "someone might have let it go, but you're supposed to turn her around. Really! it's the safest position for her to be in." She was very nice about it, but firm. So we turned her around.

I am confused now. Do different airlines have different rules? We've always flown SW before this, and no one has even mentioned the carseat before. And what kind of crash is RFing supposed to provide the best protection?

californiagirl
08-14-2007, 04:45 PM
US airlines don't get to have policies on carseat facing; they get to follow the FAA rules, which say it MUST be installed the same way it goes in a car. Period. However, most of them do a bad job of educating their flight attendants, who make up all sorts of stuff. It's handy to carry a printout of the FAA regs, particularly if your kid is still rearfacing. Here's a nice summary link: http://www.faa.gov/passengers/fly_children/crs/