PDA

View Full Version : Walk for Hope to cure breast cancer

kep
08-23-2007, 07:09 AM
Has anyone completed a walk/fun run? I am seriously considering doing the 2K in October. I just have a few quick questions:

-Is this something my 4 year old can join me on?

-Are strollers permitted?

-How practical would it be to push my double jogging stroller during the walk?

-Do I actually have to register my 4 year old? (I know to get a shirt he has to be registered, and I know he would love his own "racing number". ;) )

I would love any general tips/tricks anyone could share with me. I'm a total newbie to this, but I would love to be more involved with events like this in the future. Thanks!

Kelli

Proud Mommy to Lukey (2003). Weaned after 3 years of happy nursing!
And Mommy to our newest baby, Joseph, born 3 days after Christmas

MMEand1
08-23-2007, 08:20 PM
Good for you for getting involved and staying active. We have done several races as a family and love it.

To answer your questions:

1) I see no reason why your 4 yo could not join you. A 2k is a little over a mile and if it is a walk/fun run, you will have tons of people walking, so it should not be a problem (my DS did his first 5k at 3 years 4 months, so your 4yo should be fine.

2) Most events will have a statement like "Stroller Friendly", or "Strollers, Bikes, Skateboards, etc not allowed". If it does not say on the registration form, there should be a number (usually the race director) to call and get more information. They are usually very helpful.

3) Since a 2k is only 1.2 miles, you should be fine pushing a double stroller. My DH has pushed my DD in our Valco (with the toddler seat) in about 3-4 5k races.