PDA

View Full Version : Digital Camera recommendations...

Corie
10-22-2007, 01:22 PM
Think DISNEY Trip!
I would like a fairly small digital camera to take to Disney
with us.

I don't have a digital camera so I have no idea what to look
for.

Any suggestions?

Thanks so much!!

masha12
10-22-2007, 01:49 PM
Last Christmas we replaced an old clunky large Nikon digital camera that had no battery life with a Canon Powershot SD800 IS.

I am a novice at photos etc. and don't do a lot of editing or any fancy stuff, but here is my review.

I love it. My two most important features were size and battery life. In the fancy leather case (which they charge extra for but I think is well worth it), the camera is about 2.5" x 4" x 1.5". It is always in my purse.

The battery life is awesome. We took a five-day vacationa and I took probably more than 200 photos and I never had to charge the battery. When I bought the camera, I told the guy I wanted good battery life and so he recommended the SD800, which was up a model from the Canon he had been showing me.

It has a good optical zoom and takes good pictures.

We paid about $375 for it last December but I bet it is cheaper now.

No matter what camera you get, get it at least a month before your trip and figure it out before you go. Disney is no place to be figuring out digital cameras. :)

Tondi G
10-22-2007, 04:08 PM
LOVE our Canon Powershot Digital Elph SD550! It takes pretty darn fast pics. Has a rechargable battery (not AA batteries). Super small and just takes great pics! Highly recommend it!

~Tondi

kep
10-22-2007, 04:49 PM
Corie, I was just going to rec the Canon Powershot SD900. I see that I have already been beat by several other people. You really can't go wrong with any of the Canon Powershots, and they come in a ton of different price points. We got ours at Costco for a great price.

Kelli

Proud Mommy to Luke (April 2003)
And Joseph (December 2006)

miki
10-22-2007, 05:39 PM