PDA

View Full Version : She's peed in her potty... now what?

younhiekim
08-23-2004, 10:34 PM
Hi,
I don't normally post here (I post a little bit at Baby Bargains Layette) so I'm a newbie here! :) Anyway, my DD has been telling us when she'd need to pee occasionally in the past, and today she actually peed in her potty 3 times! I'm thrilled, of course; but now I have no idea what to do now.

A bit of background info: DD is 21 months, and she's been interested in the potty itself. She'd sit on it occasionally, and she's absolutely fascinated w/ peeing and pooping (at least when other people do it) and she loves her potty training book. I think she understands when she gets the urge to pee and poop, but she doesn't quite have the timing right -- i.e. she usually tells me but doesn't pee until 5-10 minutes later. She almost always tells me after she's pooped, although when she's playing she doesn't want to interrupt her fun so she won't tell me until later.

I honestly don't want to push her, just b/c she's so young. However, since she's so interested, and since she actually told me 3 times today that she needed go on the potty, I figure I should start the whole potty training process. However, I haven't read any potty training books, and so I'm kind of at a loss as to what to do next.

Any suggestions? Thank you!

Sincerely
YounHie

Karenn
08-24-2004, 12:10 AM
We're in the same place! Colin actually peed on his potty for the first time yesterday! I picked up a couple of books at the library today that seemed to have some good information- they might be worth checking out. There have also been some other threads here with some good information.

[http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/tg/detail/-/0965047709/qid=1093317084/sr=1-1/ref=sr_1_1/102-6649178-6105741?v=glance&s=books]

[http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/ASIN/0451192125/qid=1093317138/sr=ka-1/ref=pd_ka_1/102-6649178-6105741]

Good luck,

younhiekim
08-24-2004, 01:11 AM