PDA

View Full Version : 26 MONTH OLD - EATING DISORDER

Tripple_E
03-21-2003, 11:45 AM
Hello. I have a problem, my daughter is 26 months old and she has a feeding disorder. She still only eats babyfood, stage 2, and does not eat any solids, not even puddings or yougurt - nothing. She is seeing a speech therapist (they also handle feeding issues) and has been for many months, but there is no progress that I can see except that now we can thicken the babyfood w/ baby cereal and she'll eat that. I think it is part stubbornness, part controll, part - who knows, at this time. She's been evaluated twice (another one is coming up in April) and we can't seem to get to the root of this. Fortunately, she is still thriving and she is ok developmentally otherwise.

My question is this, did any other parents out there have similar issues? If so, do you have any advise or suggestions? Any help (or support :( ) is appreciated. Thank you.

AmyE0401
03-24-2003, 02:30 PM
I'm not an expert, but I think at this age it may be like you said, partly a "control" issue. If she started solids too late (after 6-7 months) there may be more of an oral development problem. When my son began wanting table food at 9 mos. I got a book called "Child of Mine: Feeding with Love and Good Sense", by Ellyn Satter. It helped a lot and I took on her philosophy of "the parents are responsible for the when, where and what the child eats and the child is responsible for the how much and whether of eating". Once I could put this philosphy to practice I no longer worried whether or not my ds was eating enough or too little, and I did worry since he was born premature. If your ds is still "thriving" as you say and is hitting all the developmental milestones then I would try to practice this philosphy, and start sitting her at the table with the rest of the family and you may soon see her wanting what you are eating.