PDA

View Full Version : What do you feed your toddler when eating out?

muskiesusan
02-24-2004, 04:37 PM
Okay, we eat out too much, which I am working on, but frankly I am a poor cook and never really liked it!! Anyway, I am frustrated that all the children menus only offer things like hamburgers, chicken fingers, etc. with fries. Nick is such a sporadic dinner eater, I hate to pay more than $3 or $4 on a meal he might not eat, but on the other hand, some nights he eats everything we give him.

What do you get your child when you are eating out? Also, since I am trying to cook more at home, how do you cook with a toddler under tow? Nick likes to help a little too much.

Susan
Mom to Nicholas 10/01/01
& Baby #2 due 4/23/04!!!!

brubeck
02-24-2004, 07:49 PM
When we go out I try to bring a SMALL healthy meal, as well as some snacks and then I also let the kids nibble off my plate. Amy usually gets chicken pieces and grapes or some variant, because it is easy to bring along and she will eat it cold (ie: from next to an ice pack). Andrew gets eom portable baby food (he has no molars yet) and yogurt. Sometimes Amy will get yogurt too. For snacks I bring Cheerios, Ritz Bits, Gerber Veggie crackers, Teddy Grahams and the ever-irresistable Elmo Snacks.

As for cooking, I try to keep Amy occupied with a game, toy or a small task. Sometimes the task can involve the 'cooking' (eg: stirring imaginary batter in a bowl) but sometimes it doesn't. Andrew is short enough that he's not too much in the way (yet) as long as I keep everything on the counter.

christic
02-24-2004, 09:10 PM