PDA

View Full Version : Lap Belt Extension

stacydille
08-31-2004, 04:58 PM
It is almost impossible to buckle my son's belt-positioning booster (Graco Turbobooster) because it is jammed so close to another car seat in my car. (I have 3 child safety seats in my back seat.) We just can't reach down between the seats to get the buckle!

If I can find a lap belt extender for my car, would that be safe, or would it compromise the integrity of the booster seat? It would be a 12" strip of seatbelt buckled into the car buckle, with another buckle on the end. This would allow the new buckle to reach under the booster's armrest where we can reach it to buckle it. The booster would still be used in the way it was designed, so I don't see a problem with it, but I'm no expert.

I tried finding a belt-positioning booster with open loops, extra-low sides and no arm rests, but can't find one.

If I get desparate, I'll have to buy a booster with a 5-point harness that is specified for older kids. I hate to do that because my son is almost 5 and I was hoping to allow him to be more self-sufficient by letting him use a belt-positioning booster.

Thanks for any advice you can provide!

mom2kandj
08-31-2004, 06:12 PM
Not an expert by any means, but I do understand your pain(and have the scraped knuckles to prove it!). I don't think that an extension at 12" would work as it would be too long and throw off the positioning of belt at the hip(putting the buckle between the hip and belly button). Even if the extension was a possibility, the longest I'd go would be about 6" or just enough to get the new buckle right below the arm rest of the TB.

Is it possible to move the TB so that it is in a position next no other buckles? I know this sounds like a PITA, but everytime you get out of the car, you could move the TB to the side a couple inches so that he could buckle up and then when you check his belt you could shove the seat back into position. I know it is not much, but HTH just a little!