PDA

View Full Version : need help choosing new car/booster seats

kjs
01-19-2007, 08:28 AM
i'm a newbie here and it seems like some of you have a good handle on the many car seat choices. here's my dilemma:

DS is 2 1/2 years old, 36#, 38", now in Marathon & Roundabout
DD is 7 mo old, 15#, 27", now in SnugRide

i was hoping to move both kiddies to new seats. the belts/straps on ds's seats are getting snug. he does NOT like the wide wings on the britax bodyguard (our 1st choice) wrap around headrest and is a few lbs shy of the starting weight. dd is approaching the length limit for her snugride. we're hoping to move her to the marathon & roundabout. we've got an '02 subaru outback and an '01 accord. any suggestions? TIA!

Joolsplus2
01-20-2007, 08:31 AM
How about 2 more Marathons, or Fisher Price Safe Voyage Deluxes? (www.albeebaby.com has the best price). Your DS is too young for a booster, and is probably most comfortable in the Marathon he has, and will fit in it for at least another 2 years or so (though some kids fit till age 6, he might slow down his growth a bit).
The Cosco or Safety 1st Apex, or Sunshine Kids Radian or Britax Regent are all other good choices, too, you might want to try a search here, or on the baby car seat board for heaps of posts about them.
Julie CPS Tech and mom to 3 in seats
http://www.cpsafety.com/articles/RFAlbum/SarahMA.aspx

kellyotn
01-20-2007, 04:46 PM
Yes, 2.5 is way too young. In a booster, a kid bears a great deal of responsibility for their own safety. They need to sit properly, not mess with belts or buckles, not lean forward, sleep upright and not slouch out of the shoulder strap, etc. If they drop a toy, they have to leave it on the floor, my DD is 4 and I don't trust her to just leave it there. She'd bend over and get it, and that's not safe. :)