PDA

View Full Version : Corsaire vs Cougar - having trouble deciding (m)

ilovemyboyz2003
08-18-2003, 01:13 PM
Hello everyone. This is my first time posting. Thank you for all the valuable information I found in the archives. I had never even heard of Chariot . . . thought for sure I wanted a Burley but when I compared the D'Lite vs even the Cougar, it was a no brainer.

Anyway, we will are buying primarily a bike trailer, although having an outdoor double stroller is an added plus. I am going to get the stroller wheels.

I was able to see the Cougar but cannot find the Corsair anywhere. The price difference is only about $15. Michelle at Baby-Outfitters said that the Cougar has a better suspesion system, but I thought there were some other major differences between the two lines.

Is the Corsaire wider? Does it have different harnesses?

Could someone who is familiar with both (or at least has seen both) offer me any input. I am dying to pick one and order it. We just got bikes the other day.

P.S. I have a 4.5 year old and a 10 month old.

Thank you.

~Paige

KathyO
08-18-2003, 02:39 PM
The main difference between the two is that the Corsaire is primarily a bike trailer that can also be a stroller, whereas the Cougar is primarily a stroller/jogger that can also be a bike trailer. Soooo... there are a whole bunch of small, subtle differences that favour one function slightly over another.

For example, the Cougar has a slightly more reclined position for the riders, as part of creating more "stride room" for the person pushing it. The Corsaire, on the other hand, has less "stride room" and more cargo space behind the seats, and the wheels are set closer to the centre of the cabin, and canted inwards slightly, to make them balance and ride just a little more nicely in "trailer" mode. And so on.