PDA

View Full Version : Best Disney resort for family of five (kids almost 5, almost 3, 4 months)

marinkitty
10-13-2007, 10:46 PM
I am a complete Disney novice, never having been there before, but our oldest has been bitten by the Disney bug and we are thinking of heading there in early February.

Given that we'll have the three kids and the baby is going to be so small - which of the Disney properties would you recommend for us? I've read descriptions of all of them and have to admit I'm just stumped -they all seem to have pluses and minuses and without any hands on experience I have no way to know how to weigh them. I feel like until I know where we want to stay I can't really start planning.

I'm sure we'll try to do MK at least two days and then do a day in Epcot, MGM and AK. I think we'll go for a week, maybe a day shorter. We will definitely be planning on heading back to the hotel for a break in the afternoon. Probably also have one down day where we don't plan on doing a park. DD and DS will be into the characters and shows more than rides, I suspect (and DS will be too short for many of them anyway, plus whoever has baby will have to sit out), other than the really small rides like Dumbo etc.

For those who are Disney vets - is it worth splurging on a monorail hotel for convenience? If so, which one? If not, which place do you think would be most fun for the kids?

Holly
Mom to Mia (3.03), Jack (3.05) and another arrival expected this fall!

egoldber
10-14-2007, 07:49 AM
If you can splurge and not feel bad about it, I think the Contemporary is your best bet. You can walk to the MK and monorail to Epcot. I've never been able to bring myself to spend the money though!

The kids will enjoy any of them, so I really wouldn't worry about that. Since your youngest is an infant, they don't count in the headcount, so you can stay at any resort. When your youngest is over 2, then they count against your hotel headcount and your places to stay will be much trickier.