PDA

View Full Version : Decided to try Atkins..any advice?

Annette_C
07-25-2003, 11:21 PM
I give up!! My body doesn't respond to diet and exercise like it used to so....I need a change!
I've heard great success stories from the Atkins followers and, since I've never tried that one before, I would like to give it a try.
I know Karen is familiar with the program and, in addition to Karen, can anyone offer any tips or advice?
I would really appreciate it.
Thanks,
Annette
SAHM to Sabrina 6/24/02

Susann
07-25-2003, 11:34 PM
I tried Atkins, too but it lasted only a couple of hours. Maybe because caffeine is not allowed...
I did the Curves diet which is pretty similar to Atkins but a little more flexible. I lost 29 lbs in 2 mos! And I had thought, after trying everything, that I just can't loose weight anymore, that there is something wrong with my system!

Good luck

Susann

stillplayswithbarbies
07-26-2003, 12:59 PM
I didn't think about that when we spoke yesterday, Annette, but Susan's suggestion about the Curves diet is a good one. The low carb option of the diet is similar to Atkins, and they have a low calorie option too. There is probably a Curves near you, it's a great workout, quick and easy.

My biggest tip, once you know what you can eat, is to make sure and have good foods on hand so you can grab an easy snack when you are hungry. You should never be hungry on Atkins, when you are hungry, eat something. I find that if I let myself get hungry, I tend to eat the wrong things because they are easy to fix or easy to buy. (bag of chips)

It's a real change of mindset to go from trying to eat low calorie low fat all your life to eating low carb. Your mind will balk at the amount of fat in the things you will be eating. (steak, cheese, butter) You have to be ready to accept that what you have been told all your life is incorrect for some people and forget the "Food Pyramid" that the FDA has been teaching us for decades.