PDA

View Full Version : How do you fit exercise into your schedule

vikivoly
01-07-2005, 11:27 PM
We're all busy mom's, so I'm just curious how/when everyone exercises with their children. I'm a WAHM with a 2yr old and 3 month old. I really enjoy walking outdoors, but it gets too cold here in the winter to take an infant out in the stroller. I try to get a lot of my work done while they're sleeping. I have a very irregular schedule, so that makes it hard to be consistant with anything. DH also has an irregular schedule and he rarely gets home before dark. Any suggestions? What do you do?

psophia17
01-08-2005, 03:40 PM
I started working out regularly in September of 2004, so I'm not really good at scheduling stuff yet, but I'm getting there.

Since you've got 2 kids, one is an infant, and two irregular adult schedules to work with, you're in a much tougher spot than I was when I got started. I had DH and MIL to babysit as needed, and locally there are a million inexpensive options for fitness that I could take part in.

My trick to be consistent with going to class, though, was to pay for it in advance. The same thing was true for WW when I was on it - I paid for 14 weeks, and I went all 14. My feeling was that if I paid for it and it wasn't drop-in, I would feel ripped off if I didn't go. Have you got any options like that where you are? Babysitting is also key in your situation - if you can come up with a class or activity you would enjoy, find someone who will show up to watch your kids either at your home or at the place you go to without having to ask them. If you know that ____ is going to show up so you can go exercise, you'll start to schedule it mentally, which makes a huge difference.

That's what worked for me - consistent child care and that I paid for stuff in advance.

HTH :)

Mrs.D
01-08-2005, 06:55 PM