PDA

View Full Version : Need input on physical activity for moms

hchambliss
03-17-2005, 07:25 PM
I am a researcher in health/physical activity, mom of a 9 mo baby girl and new to this message board. I would like to get moms' perspectives on physical activity to help me in a presentation I am putting together.

Here are some questions I have:

1. What advice regarding physical activity were you given by your ob/gyn during pregnancy? post-partum?

2. What are your top 3 reasons for physical activity during pregnancy? post-partum?

3. What are your 3 biggest barriers to physical activity during pregnancy? post-partum?

4. What physical activity has been easiest/hardest for you to do during pregnancy? post-partum?

5. Any other related thoughts/comments?

I hope I'm not imposing on the forum, but your input will really be helpful! Thanks!

psophia17
03-17-2005, 11:16 PM
>1. What advice regarding physical activity were you given by
>your ob/gyn during pregnancy? post-partum?
Almost none. I didn't gain any weight until the last 6 weeks of pregnancy, and had done WW for a year before I got pregnant, and my OB just said to keep making healthy choices and left it at that. As far as exercise went, other women I knew told me to keep active, but my doctor never did. Post-partum I was told to take things at my own pace, but to not start anything in earnest until 6 weeks after my c-section.

>2. What are your top 3 reasons for physical activity during
>pregnancy? post-partum?
These answers are my reasons now that I've had some time to think about what I wish I'd done differently while pregnant and right after DS was born. During pregnancy: 1) easier delivery 2) faster recovery from delivery 3) faster return to pre-preggo size; Post-partum: 1) get my abs back 2) have more energy 3) feel better
>
>3. What are your 3 biggest barriers to physical activity
>during pregnancy? post-partum?