PDA

View Full Version : Any other swimmers here?

sbjf
09-26-2005, 11:39 AM
Well, I call myself a swimmer, but I'm just starting out. I love being in the water and I recently joined our Family YMCA. I'm loving it (free child care is included, nice break for mommy!). I met with one of the coaches (included in monthly price, too), she set me up with some goals and routines, and showed me how to work the strength training machines.

I usually do my strenght training first, and then some cardio (bike or swimming).

I guess my question for the swimmers out there is, how do I get good at it? I can swim, but not like the kids on the swim team kwim? I'd like to really get good at it so that eventually it will be my main form of exercise (since I love it, right?). Do you think I should hire a teen on the swim team to teach me? Or can I pick this up myself? Some fluff questions....should I wear a swim cap? Do you? Why/why not? What brand swimsuits do you like? I have an awesome Speedo one that I just lost/misplaced and I'm so bummed. I went to Sports Authority to get a couple of new ones since I'm in the pool so much now, but all of them were cut too low in the back (not attractive at this point.) Any good tips, brands, sites, etc.?

THANKS!!

(I hope I'm not the only swimmer here!)

MarisaSF
09-26-2005, 12:14 PM
I'm a fish and love to swim!
Hope I can help answer some q's for you.
FWIW, I swam competitively through college and some masters. I coached too. Love it!

Well, let's see, where to start:
Stay with your goals. Did the coach give you "workouts" like: 50 yds x 4 on 2 minute intervals or anything like that? If yes, great. If no, I can probably dig up some workouts on line for you and you can modify them to your speed.

Best advice for getting good/faster/stronger, for starters: