PDA

View Full Version : What is realistic after 2 kids?

JMS
10-31-2007, 10:44 AM
I know this forum doesn't get much traffic but I need opinions. DH and I decided that we are 99% done having kids. So I decided it was time to get my body back. Finally I found the determination I needed to make a lifestyle change. I've been eating healthy and exercising reguarly for almost 2 months and I'm really liking the visual results, but more importantly, I feel great, both physically and emotionally.
Not to brag, but my body used to be pretty great. I'm 5'5 and just got back into a comfy size 10. I'd like to be a roomy size 6 (used to be a 2 or 4). However, on the scale I'm still about 30 pounds from what I once was. Can I ever safely maintain that weight again?
Is that even realistic after 2 kids? I know everyone is different.. just wondering if there are any thoughts or opinions on this out there or if anyone was ever in a similiar situation?
TIA!

leeza
11-01-2007, 03:04 PM
I'm not sure if we're done having kids yet, but I also decided that I needed to get back into shape post-second child. (I didn't lose all of my ivf/pregnancy weight after the first, so I know if I have another child, I'm better off starting at a lower weight to have less to lose afterwards.)

I'm afraid I don't have answers for you from experience - but what I've heard is that it's possible to return to almost your pre-baby body with work. For some women that requires a LOT of work, some seem to slip into their old clothes without much intentional action. I have a SIL who gets back into her clothes by 9 months out or earlier, but she has always been thin and tends to forget to eat.